CareCloud Data Breach Affects 3.3 Million Individuals

When we last reported on the CareCloud data breach in early August, it was starting to become clear from breach notifications to state attorneys general that the cybersecurity incident involved a major breach of patient data. The scale of the breach was difficult to determine, as many state attorneys general do not make data breaches affecting state residents public, and of those that do, only a few state how many individuals have been affected.

The data breach has now been added to the HHS’ Office for Civil Rights breach portal, showing that this was one of the largest healthcare data breaches of the year, involving unauthorized access to the electronic protected health information of 3,371,508 individuals. While CareCloud has confirmed that a threat actor claimed to have stolen sensitive data, no threat group appears to have publicly claimed responsibility for the attack. This often means that ransom payment has been negotiated, although CareCloud has not confirmed whether that is the case.

August 3, 2026: CareCloud Notifies More Than 345,000 Patients About Cyberattack Data Theft

CareCloud Inc., a Somerset, New Jersey-based provider of cloud-based and AI-powered EHR, RCM, PM, and clinical documentation solutions, has determined that data was likely exfiltrated from its systems in a recent security incident.

CareCloud said it experienced a network disruption on March 16, 2026, that impacted one of its electronic health record environments. Third-party cybersecurity experts were engaged to assist with the investigation and determined that the impacted AWS environment was accessed by an unauthorized third party between March 10 and March 16, 2026. The threat actor claimed to have exfiltrated databases from that environment. The threat actor behind the attack has not been disclosed, and no ransomware group appears to have claimed responsibility for the attack as of August 3, 2026.

Get The FREE
HIPAA Compliance Checklist

Immediate Delivery of Checklist Link To Your Email Address

Please Enter Correct Email Address

Your Privacy Respected

HIPAA Journal Privacy Policy

CareCloud said it has reviewed that data and, on June 24, 2026, confirmed the data types involved. The exposed/stolen data types vary from individual to individual, and the exact data types are detailed in the individual notification letters. CareCloud has confirmed that the compromised data includes names, addresses, dates of birth, Social Security numbers, driver’s license numbers/government ID numbers, financial account numbers, credit/debit card numbers, and medical and health insurance information.

Notification letters have started to be mailed to the affected individuals, and certain individuals are being offered up to 24 months of complimentary identity theft protection services; however, only if required under state law. The data breach is not yet shown on the HHS’ Office for Civil Rights breach portal, so it is currently unclear how many individuals have been affected; however, CareCloud has confirmed to state attorneys general that this was a significant data breach. Based on data breach summaries published by state attorneys general, at least 345,000 individuals have been affected, including 270,197 Texas residents.

CareCloud believes it has eliminated the threat and has not identified any further unauthorized access to its AWS environment or other systems since March 16, 2026. The company has confirmed that it will continue to take steps to strengthen the security of its systems and environments to reduce the risk of similar incidents in the future.

March 30, 2026: Healthcare Software Company Announces Breach of its Electronic Health Record Environment

The Somerset, New Jersey-based healthcare software company CareCloud has notified the U.S. Securities and Exchange Commission (SEC) about a security incident that caused network disruption on March 16, 2026. CareCloud is a business associate of hospitals and physician practices and works with more than 45,000 providers. The company provides software solutions, including electronic health records systems, and it was its electronic health record environment that was subject to unauthorized access.

According to the SEC filing, a hacker gained access to one of its six electronic health record environments for a period of around 8 hours, partially disrupting functionality and data access. CareCloud was able to fully restore the environment on the evening of March 16, 2026. CareCloud believes that the threat actor no longer has access to its systems. Initially, the incident was reported to law enforcement, its cyber insurer was notified, and third-party cybersecurity specialists were engaged to assist with the investigation and help with securing its environment. When it became clear that this was a material incident due to the sensitivity of the data stored within the compromised environment and the potential cost of a data breach, the SEC was notified.

CareCloud believes that the incident was contained in the one CareCloud Health environment, and no other business systems were involved. The investigation to determine the nature and scope of the unauthorized activity is ongoing, including the extent to which patient data was accessed or exfiltrated, and the categories of and volume of data involved.

As of the date of the SEC filing, the incident has had no material impact on the company’s operations, and the initial assessment suggests that the incident is not reasonably likely to have a material impact on the company’s financial position or results of operations, although the impact of the incident has yet to be fully assessed. There will naturally be costs associated with remediation and response, legal, regulatory, and notification-related matters, and possible effects on patients, customers, counterparties, reputation, and operations. The company holds cyber insurance policies and believes that it has sufficient insurance coverage to cover any costs.

CareCloud has not publicly disclosed how any of its clients have been affected, nor has it provided an estimate for the number of individuals whose medical records were exposed in the incident. Notifications will be issued to the affected clients and individuals when they have been identified. At the time of publication, no cyber threat actor is known to have claimed responsibility for the attack.

The post CareCloud Data Breach Affects 3.3 Million Individuals appeared first on The HIPAA Journal.

Six New Healthcare Data Breaches Announced

Data breaches have been announced by New Horizons Behavioral Health in Georgia, CWA Local 1180 in New York, Coastal Carolina Health Care in North Carolina, West Texas Health, and Nephrology Associates Medical Group and Stockton Cardiology Medical Group in California.

New Horizons Behavioral Health, Georgia

The Columbus, Georgia-based community mental healthcare provider New Horizons Behavioral Health has announced a January 2026 security incident. Suspicious network activity was identified on January 18, 2026, and the forensic investigation confirmed unauthorized access to its network between January 15, 2026, and January 18, 2026. Data review specialists have been engaged to determine which individuals have been affected, and while that process is ongoing, New Horizons Behavioral Health has confirmed that the data exposed in the incident includes names, addresses, birth dates, Social Security numbers, driver’s license numbers, financial account information, diagnosis information, treatment and prescription information, provider names, treatment locations, and health insurance information.

New Horizons Behavioral Health said the affected individuals will be offered complimentary credit monitoring and identity theft protection services, and will receive notifications when the data review is concluded. While not stated in the breach notice, the Devman threat group took credit for the attack. On December 1, 2025, Devman added New Horizons Behavioral Health to its data leak site with a threat to publish 236 GB of data allegedly stolen in the attack.

Stockton Cardiology Medical Group, California

Stockton Cardiology Medical Group, an independent physician practice serving the San Joaquin Valley area of California, has started notifying patients about a recent security incident. According to the breach notice provided to the California Attorney General, suspicious emails were identified that had been sent to its employees. Stockton Cardiology deleted the emails as part of its remediation efforts; however, on January 17, 2026, Stockton Cardiology learned that files containing patient information may have been accessed or acquired.

An investigation was launched to determine the scope of the breach, and the impacted files were found to contain personally identifiable information and protected health information, including patient names, mailing addresses, email addresses, and billing records that may contain limited medical information associated with services provided. The affected individuals have been offered complimentary credit monitoring services, and steps have been taken to improve security. They include shutting down an older remote access service used by staff members, implementing multifactor authentication for internal systems, resetting all passwords, and reviewing data retention policies to minimize the data stored on its systems.

Stockton Cardiology said it learned on February 17, 2026, that some of the stolen data had been published online. That was the date that the Genesis threat group claimed responsibility for the attack. Genesis said 645 GB of data was stolen in the attack, including personal and healthcare data.

Coastal Carolina Health Care, North Carolina

Coastal Carolina Health Care (CCHC), a provider of primary and specialty care services in Craven, Pamlico, and Carteret Counties in North Carolina, has recently notified the New Hampshire Attorney General about a data breach. Unauthorized network activity was first identified on March 25, 2025, and after securing its network and investigating the incident, the healthcare provider determined that there had been unauthorized network access between March 21, 2025, and March 27, 2025. A third-party vendor was engaged to review the affected data, and almost a year later, the types of data involved have been confirmed.

Coastal Carolina Health Care said it was determined on February 26, 2026, that names and Social Security numbers were compromised in the incident, and sufficient information was obtained to effectuate individual notifications.  The affected individuals have been offered complimentary credit monitoring and identity theft protection services. Coastal Carolina Health Care said additional security measures have been implemented to prevent similar incidents in the future.

West Texas Health

West Texas Health PLLC has notified 73,720 individuals about a recent data security incident that impacted Privia Medical Groups West Texas, LLC. On or around October 3, 2025, West Texas Health discovered a security incident. Assisted by external cybersecurity professionals, unauthorized access was confirmed between September 12, 2025, and October 3, 2025.  West Texas Health said that following an extensive forensic investigation and comprehensive document review, on February 6, 2026, it was confirmed that protected health information was acquired in the incident.

The types of data involved vary from individual to individual and may include names in combination with some or all of the following: first and last names, Social Security numbers, driver’s license/state-issued identification numbers, passports, military identifications, other unique government-issued identification numbers, financial account information, financial account numbers, payment card information, taxpayer identification numbers or IRS identity protection PINs, medical histories, medical diagnosis and treatment information, health insurance policy numbers, claims histories, other health insurance information, and usernames/email addresses with passwords and security questions and answers. West Texas Health said individuals whose Social Security numbers were exposed have been offered complimentary credit monitoring and identity theft protection services.

Nephrology Associates Medical Group, California

Nephrology Associates Medical Group in Riverside, California, has notified the California Attorney General about a May 2025 cybersecurity incident. Suspicious activity was identified within its email system on May 20, 2025. Assisted by third-party cybersecurity professionals, Nephrology Associates confirmed that an employee’s email account had been compromised. The account was reviewed, and on December 12, 2025, the review was completed, confirming that personal information was present in the account, including names, Social Security numbers, dates of birth, medical/health information, treatment/diagnostic information, health insurance information, billing/payment information, and credentialing information.

Nephrology Associates has strengthened password requirements, is now enforcing more frequent password changes, has reduced access permissions, and is storing older data offline. The breach has been reported to the HHS’ Office for Civil Rights; however, there is now a substantial delay in adding breach data to the public-facing section of its breach portal. At present, it is unclear how many individuals have been affected.

Communications Workers of America Local 1180 Security Benefits Fund, New York

Communications Workers of America Local 1180 Security Benefits Fund (CWA Local 1180) has notified regulators about a data breach involving unauthorized access and potential acquisition of the personal and protected health information of 18,550 individuals. In a notification to the Massachusetts Attorney General, CWA Local 1180 said the forensic investigation of the incident determined that its network was breached on December 24, 2025.

The investigation determined that names and Social Security numbers were potentially compromised in the incident, although no evidence has been found to indicate that there has been any misuse of the impacted data. As a precaution against data misuse, the affected individuals have been offered 24 months of complimentary credit monitoring and identity theft protection services. CWA Local 1180 said that it has taken steps to harden security to prevent similar incidents in the future.

The post Six New Healthcare Data Breaches Announced appeared first on The HIPAA Journal.

Data Breaches Reported by New York & Texas Plastic Surgery Practices

Data breaches have recently been reported by Vantage Plastic Surgery in New York City and Austin Plastic and Reconstructive Surgery in Texas.

Vantage Plastic Surgery, New York

Vantage Plastic Surgery, a plastic surgery practice in New York City, has recently disclosed a security incident involving unauthorized access to the protected health information of 4,600 current and former patients. The plastic surgery practice said it first learned about the cyberattack on January 15, 2026, and immediate action was taken to secure its computer environment. Third-party cybersecurity specialists were engaged to assist with the investigation, and on January 22, 2026, the practice confirmed that patient data had been exposed and may have been obtained by an unauthorized third party.

The file review determined that names, addresses, phone numbers, email addresses, dates of birth, and medical record information had been exposed in the incident. The practice announced the data breach on February 14, 2026, and is now notifying the affected patients. Complimentary credit monitoring and identity theft protection services have been offered to the affected individuals, and steps have been taken to bolster security to prevent similar incidents in the future.

Austin Plastic and Reconstructive Surgery, Texas

Austin Plastic and Reconstructive Surgery in Texas has notified patients about a security incident that involved unauthorized access to its network last summer. The incident was detected on or around July 1, 2025, and the forensic investigation confirmed unauthorized access to its network between June 30, 2025, and July 1, 2025.

Third-party cybersecurity professionals were engaged to investigate the incident, and the affected files were reviewed. On February 28, 2026, it was confirmed that files accessed or acquired in the incident contained names, addresses, dates of birth, financial account information, driver’s license numbers/state identification numbers, passport numbers, Social Security numbers, medical information, and health insurance information.

Notification letters were sent to the affected individuals on March 11, 2026, and at that time, no misuse of the affected data had been identified. Complimentary credit monitoring and identity theft protection services have been offered to individuals whose Social Security numbers were involved. The breach is not currently listed on the HHS Office for Civil Rights breach portal of the website of the Texas Attorney General, so it is currently unclear how many individuals have been affected.

The post Data Breaches Reported by New York & Texas Plastic Surgery Practices appeared first on The HIPAA Journal.